Comments

The Comments feature allows your site visitors to leave comments on selected content types. This feature also displays a Recent comments block on your home page, which by default displays the five most recent user comments on your website.

To help protect your website from comment spam, every Drupal Gardens site comes with a free Mollom spam protection service account. You can also choose to moderate your website's visitor comments manually.

Notes:

  • This feature requires the Comment module. Although this module is enabled by default, if you have any difficulties using this feature, ensure that the Comment module is enabled.
  • Drupal Gardens scans all anonymous user comments (if they're allowed for your content types) using Mollom to protect against spam or inappropriate comments. You cannot disable this feature.

Enabling this feature

To enable this feature as you create your Drupal Gardens website, drag the slider for Comments to On on the Choose a template page.

Comments feature

If you enable the feature from the Choose a template page, Drupal Gardens makes the following changes to your website:

  • Adds the Post comments permission to the Anonymous user role
  • Displays recent comments on the home page

Note: If desired, you can move the recent comments block to another display region on your website, or hide it from view. For more information about displaying blocks on your website, see Blocks.

Configuring content types

For each content type that you want your visitors to be able to leave comments on:

  1. Go to Structure > Content types.
  2. Find the content type that you want to allow users to comment on, and then click its edit link.
  3. Select the Comment settings pane at the bottom of the page.
  4. In the Default comment setting for new content section, select Open.
  5. Click Save content type.

Note: You may not want your visitors to leave comments on Basic pages, FAQ items, or other content types. Make sure these have the default comment setting "closed."

Comment access permissions

Using permissions, you can control who can comment on your website's content, and you can manage those comments.

To edit permissions, in the admin menu, select People, and then select the Permissions tab.

  • Comments
    • Administer comments and comment settings - Assign this permission only to site administrators.
    • View comments - Most sites allow all site visitors, including anonymous ones, to see comments.
    • Post comments - Users with this permission will be able to post comments, but they will not be published immediately. Instead, the comments will go into your site's moderation queue (Content > Comments > Unapproved comments) for either approval or rejection by site administrators with the Administer comments and comment settings permission.

      comment_approval.png

    • Skip comment approval - Users with this permission can post comments that are published immediately, and without approval.

      This permission cannot be given to anonymous users unless Mollom spam protection is enabled and configured to protect the comment form on your site. You cannot remove the Mollom protection for this form unless you remove this permission from anonymous users and have given them the Post comments permission.

    • Edit own comments - Users with this permission can modify comments that they created.
  • Comment goodness
    • Delete own comments - Users with this permission can delete the comments that they have created.

      If other site visitors have replied to a comment, the comment can no longer be deleted.

Deleting comments

Website administrators with the Administer comments and comment settings permission can delete any comments posted to the website by any user, while site visitors need permission to delete their own comments.

After you allow your users to delete their posted comments, they can remove individual comments as long as no one has replied to the comment and their role has the Delete own comments permission.

To configure users so that they can delete their own comments:

  1. In the admin menu, select People, and then select the Permissions tab.
  2. In the Comment goodness section, select the Delete own comments permission for the roles that you want to allow comment deletion.

    Note that higher-level user roles inherit permissions from lower-level roles. For example, if you provide a permission to the Authenticated user role, all user roles on the website (except for Anonymous users) have access to the permission.

  3. Click Save permissions.

Users who can delete their own comments now see the delete link on the comments that they post:

Delete comment link

Note: If you have enabled Threading for content types, it can be difficult for your users to see if a threaded comment has replies, and if they are able delete the comment. For more information about configuring content type settings, see Customizing comments and sorting.

Feedback